Aging ain't for sissies.

What’s My Purpose?

(5/5/2020 by Terri Onorato)

As we slowly emerge from the isolation brought on by covid-19, we stretch our emotional muscles, peek around the corner and squint our eyes at the changes in the world in which we reside.  I doubt there is anyone who hasn’t been altered in some way because of the effects of coronavirus.

For many, their entire outlook on life has changed.  I would venture to guess there are innumerable people now questioning not only how they want to move forward but also what their purpose is in this lifetime.


We all have purpose, no matter what our situation is. For the longest time we followed the status quo and thought that by doing so we were living the good life, the American dream. It seems the American dream has changed dramatically and many of us have as well. Maybe now we’re starting to see that the good life doesn’t involve more stuff, more prestige or more recognition.  Maybe it involves more purpose.

Personally, for many years I struggled to define my purpose. I believed that my purpose was singular, that one big thing I needed to do in my lifetime. This line of thinking lead me to feel I was a failure because I hadn’t achieved my purpose.  I’ve had a lot of time to ponder this and I realize I was off track in my thinking. I’ve discovered I have a multitude of purposes, as do we all. I think our purpose changes depending on where we are in our lives, what our circumstances are and what is needed.

“If you can’t figure out your purpose, figure out your passion.
  Your passion will lead you right into your purpose.”
(Bishop T.D. Jakes)

I don’t know if there’s been a more pivotal moment in our own personal histories than there is right now. We have the opportunity to emerge from our cocoons with a clearer picture of who we are and who we want to be going forward.  And if you are not sure yet, listen closely to what makes your heart sing, what excites you and feels right to you. That is the beacon illuminating your purpose, showing you the way.

Change can be daunting, but look at what we have been through in just the past few months!  It has truly been unprecedented.  Now is the time to follow your instincts, trust your gut and alter the course as you see fit.   It’s a scary prospect that requires nothing less than a heavy dose of courage but if we have accumulated anything during this quarantine, it’s been courage.  (And for some of us a slightly larger waistline.)

“You cannot swim for new horizons until
you have courage to lose sight of the shore.”
(William Faulkner)

Be kind to yourself and others. The path we walk is not an easy one but it is important and it has purpose.

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud